642 Tiny Things To Write About -A Book Of Quick Writes

I was so happy when I found the Fully Booked is back in Gateway! And what made me more happy is when I saw this book.

“One day I will find the right words, and they will be simple.” – Jack Kerouac #642tinythingstowriteabout

A post shared by Kristina Angeles (@astoldbykeisi) on

I have been dealing with writer’s block for years now, and I badly wanted to get back into writing. One reason why I opened this blog, is so that I can fore myself to write, instead of doing the usual reblog on Tumblr. When I saw this book, I said to myself, “Hey, this can be a cure to my writer’s block!”. But, unfortunately, I wasn’t able to start writing yet. I planned to write during my long vacation and start with this one. Nevertheless, I’ll include writing in my new year’s resolution.

Browsing the book, I found the topics to write about very witty and creative. Some made me think that I can write about that topic, and some made me think “WTF?! I have no idea how to write that!”

Here are some topics/subjects I picked from the book in random.

Create a new government agency. Start with an acronym.

DECT – Department of Extraterrestrial Contact and Technology

Describe your job as if it were a hobby

I like to do testing, and capturing defects. From time to time, I also talk to the team onshore to discuss the results of the testing. I also like to write SQL scripts for reports, and run them to production. I usually send the reports to those who like it.

Describe your hobby as if it were a job

My responsibility is to watch and review Asian Dramas and Anime, and listen and review music, making sure that they are of good quality, and at par with the rest of it’s kind. I am also tasked to do creative writing, mostly in the topic of romance, drama and comedy.

The first or last paragraph of the book you lack the courage to publish

“I grew up believing in fairy tales. I always believed that I am a princess or a damsel in distress, and that my prince would one day find me and save me. I always knew that when I love, I will love forever. I’ve always waited for the day when I will grew up and find the love that I’ve always wanted.”

Yeah, I know what I wrote is too lame. I still need practice. But anyway, it’s a start, right?

I love this little book a lot. It gets my mind thinking of what I can write. There are more than a hundred ways to write about a certain topic in this book, that I could not decide which I should write. It is really a good book for writing, and it does give you a tiny flash of inspiration.

Leave a Reply

