Payday Lunch at Peri-Peri Charcoal Chicken

It’s been a long time since I last made an entry for Payday Lunch. Part of it is because we’re already back at the night shift (PST hours), and only fast food chains are open during our all-nighters. Big part of it is because we’re saving up more money.

And since it’s payday, and my high school best friends and I are meeting up,I decided to splurge for lunch. The restaurant I chose is Peri-Peri Charcoal Chicken at Gateway Mall, Cubao.

I first tasted peri-peri chicken back in Canada. It was our first week of training then, and since we were still lazy to cook our own lunch, we join the rest of the Filipinos who were onshore back then for a lunch at Nando’s Peri-Peri Chicken.

Though there’s no Nando’s yet here in the Philippines, I’m thrilled to see that there’s a restaurant that serves peri-peri chicken that’s (almost) near my place.

From what I have researched so far, peri-peri refers to the marinade used for the chicken. It is made from crushed chillies, citrus peel, onion, pepper, salt, lemon juice, bay leaves, paprika, pimiento, basil, oregano, and tarragon. It originated in Africa, and was created when Portuguese settlers arrived with chilli peppers.

So going back to our lunch. The restaurant had a good vibe once you come in. It looked like you stepped into a Hispanic home. What caught my eye was the wall with the name of their six sauces on it.

Wall of Sauce

A post shared by Kristina Angeles (@astoldbykeisi) on

The place is decoarated with mason jar lighting and red, figurines of chickens, yellow and green colored bottles. I wasn’t able to take a picture of the interior as I was too shy to do so hahahaha.

Since I was the first to arrive (as always), I decided to order an appetizer. I  ordered their Crispy Baby Squid.

Crispy Baby Squid #keisieats #foodphotography #foodgrammerph

A post shared by Kristina Angeles (@astoldbykeisi) on

It is served with a wedge of line, marinara sauce and tartar sauce. I like how soft it is to chew. However, there is still a briny after taste. Although I like my seafood with tartar sauce, the marinara sauce is good combination, as it take away any of its after taste.

Once the girls arrived, we ordered our main dish. We decided to order their Chicken And Rib Platter for the four of us. It includes a whole chicken, half slab of rib, two side dishes (carrot and corn, and coleslaw) and four small bowls of java rice.

Today's lunch #keisieats #foodphotography #foodgrammerph

A post shared by Kristina Angeles (@astoldbykeisi) on

The platter is also served alongside their six sauces. Honestly, I was surprised at how big the servings are. The bowl of rice is more than enough for one person.

Peri-peri chicken #keisieats #foodphotography #foodgrammerph

A post shared by Kristina Angeles (@astoldbykeisi) on

Their chicken was large. It was soft to chew, and falls off the bone. I got the breat part, and while my friend complained about it being dry (maybe because she got the leg part?), I found it somewhat moist. I like how the marinade compliments the chicken. The marinade is not too overpowering and not too spicy. I tried the chicken with the six sauces, and our conclusion is that it tastes good with their chili choc’lit.

BBQ Back Ribs #keisieats #foodphotography #foodgrammerph

A post shared by Kristina Angeles (@astoldbykeisi) on

As for their BBQ Back Ribs, I could say I was a little  bit disappointed with it. I’m not sure if they used the same marinade as the chicken, but I was expecting the bbq ribs to  be sweet, but it had a strong taste, which I believe came from the rub or the barbecue sauce. It is also soft and east falls off the bone, so that makes up for my disappointment.

Overall, I enjoyed my lunch at Peri-Peri Charcoal Chicken. I’m looking forward to come back here, and try their other dishes.

Leave a Reply

