Payday Lunch: Slammin’ Mini Burger + Omakase + Carousel Creamery

After the hot air balloon fiesta, my best friend asked me if I wanted to watch a movie the day before Valentine’s day. And since I am on vacation leave, I agreed. We planned it as our Valentine’s day, since we both don’t have dates for that day.

We met at the Promenade in Greenhills. Since she message she will be late, I decided to get something to eat first since I didn’t have any breakfast. I chanced upon Slammin’ Mini Burger. I’ve been seeing them in Instagram before, and I’ve been wanting to get some of their burgers.

I ordered Bacon N’ Mushroom, Fries with cheesy dip and blue lemonade.

dsc_1241

I was ready to buy more food in case it didn’t satisfy my hunger, but I was surprised that I got full. The burgers were very filling, and it didn’t feel small at all! I wish all burgers are like this.

After the movies, we met her daughter, and decided to have early dinner at Italiani’s. However, we were not able to find it. We settled to have dinner at Omakase instead.

What caught my eyes were the big Japanese dolls installed on the walls. The place has a kawaii vibe in it.

DSC_1258.JPG

Kawaii doll

I’m not a fan of sushis and makis, however, there are some Japanese food that I really like. The only sushi I got to enjoy was the one from Kingsway Sushi in Canada. We ordered the Seafood Crepe Salad, JSC Platter, and okonomiyaki.

dsc_1268

Seafood Crepe Salad

I really enjoyed the salad. I like the texture of the tuna, crab, squid and shrimp. It’s very creamy, and the tuna tastes fresh. The serving is just right for the three of us, and it’s very filling.

dsc_1270

Okononmiyaki

Our next order is the okonomiyaki. To be honest, I only ordered this because I’ve been seeing this in Japanese movies and J-doramas. This is the part I got full. I only had one slice, and before I know it, I only have a few room in my tummy. It has an eggy, pancakey texture, and the taste is exactly how I imagined it to be – not sweet, and not too savory. It’s just right for my picky tongue. I didn’t manage to finsh a second slice of this, though.

dsc_1273

JRS Platter

Now, this one got us all really full. Although I don’t like sushi, I did quite enjoy the maki in this platter. I’m not a fan of their mayo sauce, as I feel it made the sushi much sweeter.

After we had our dinner, we decided to have dessert somewhere near. We wanted to have cake or ice cream, as we already had coffee before we watched a movie. We were supposed to go to Conti’s, but we found Carousel Creamery just outside Promenade.

dsc_1283

Just a portion of their many ice cream flavors

dsc_1288

It’s hard to choose from their 101 unique flavors, and ordering which ones we like is a big challenge for the three of us. We settled on 2 orders of Triple. Finally, we decided on the flavor of ice cream that we wanted to try.

dsc_1283

My best friend ordered Red Velvet and Mango Speculoos, her daughter ordered S’mores Wine and Chocolate Cookie Dough, and I ordered Maple & Bacon and Cherry Cheescake

dsc_1296

Mango Speculoos, S’mores Wine and Chocolate Cookie Dough

dsc_1297

Cherry Cheesecake, Red Velvet, Maple and Bacon

The ice creams were flavorful. It tastes exactly as what it’s named after. I liked the Maple and Bacon, because it tastes like pure maple syrup. The Cherry Cheesecake is filled with chunky cherries, and I could taste the cherry liqueur. There is really wine in S’mores Wine. We love how sweet and chunky the Mango Speculoos, and the Chocolate Cookie Dough tastes like the batter of the chocolate chip cookie.

dsc_1305

Banana Cinnamon, Baileys, Toffee Vanilla

We craved for more, so we ordered three more scoops of ice cream. Banana Cinnamon was too sweet. There is a kick of alcohol in Baileys. And the Toffee Vanilla was a surprise, as the combination of toffee and vanilla was just right.

We were very full and satisfied by the end of the night. We enjoyed our pre-valentines date. Who says you need a special someone to be happy on hearts day? All that matters to me is good food, and company of my best friend.

Leave a Reply

